apples 3 (that’s not the answer to the riddle)

15 10 2004

b/c when tamnonlinear posts a meme, it has to be classy.

The Song of Wandering Aengus

I went out to the hazel wood,
Because a fire was in my head,
And cut and peeled a hazel wand,
And hooked a berry to a thread;
And when white moths were on the wing,
And moth-like stars were flickering out,
I dropped the berry in a stream
And caught a little silver trout.

When I had laid it on the floor
I went to blow the fire aflame,
But something rustled on the floor,
And some one called me by my name:
It had become a glimmering girl
With apple blossom in her hair
Who called me by my name and ran
And faded through the brightening air.

Though I am old with wandering
Through hollow lands and hilly lands,
I will find out where she has gone,
And kiss her lips and take her hands;
And walk among long dappled grass,
And pluck till time and times are done
The silver apples of the moon,
The golden apples of the sun.

— William Butler Yeats

(post a poem. make (or even link to) a comment to tell me you did so.)
bonus points for anybody (ok, for aaric; nobody else has a chance in hell) who notices why me finding this poem at random today is eerily significant.

Actions

Information

11 responses

16 10 2004
ayrdaomei

I love this meme (I’m going through ‘s comments and checking out what people have posted ^_^)! I really like Yeats, good choice.
Btw, I’ve kept a ‘Secret Wish’ postcard taped above my desk for a few years now. I love your icon! ::Scrambles off to see if she can’t find a scan of it for further iconization::

16 10 2004
tyra

you win. i don’t even know what “secret wish” is (i’m guessing it’s the name of that picture). a friend e-mailed the graphic to me years ago & said it reminded him of me. i’ve got a bigger version. so if you can’t get it to scan how you like it, let me know, & i’ll share!

16 10 2004
ayrdaomei

**laughs** What do I win? ^_^ Yeah, that’s the name of the image. I managed to find a nice scan, but thanks for the offer!
I made these by the way, in the event that you’d like a 100×100 version, and because the Red Sox can’t seem to hold a lead, and I make icons when I’m nervous πŸ˜‰
// // //
Okay, leaving now. I need more incense. You can never light enough “good energy” incense. At least I hope not.
::curtseys::

17 10 2004
tyra

these are lovely! thanks muchly! you’re very good with this iconning business. i especially like the one where you’ve made her all sharp & clear. is the original like that? or did you photoshop it? mine’s only ever been a little blurry…
i don’t think i’ve ever considered the juxtoposition of incense & baseball before. what an interesting combination. i think you should write that poem. πŸ™‚

17 10 2004
ayrdaomei

these are lovely! thanks muchly!
You’re very welcome ^_^ Thank you.
is the original like that? or did you photoshop it?
You’re not wrong, the original *is* slightly blurred. As you guessed, I used photoshop’s “sharpen” function πŸ™‚
Do you want a border on that, btw? (like the fist one has that thin black border, or I could use a brush like I did on the third/fourth one) Or are you fine with it as is?
i don’t think i’ve ever considered the juxtoposition of incense & baseball before. what an interesting combination.
And COMPLETELY unsuccessful. ::grumps:: The Red Sox make my soul hurt.
i think you should write that poem. πŸ™‚
**laughs** Perhaps. An Ode To The Futility of Trying to Send Your Team Good Karma When They Are A Bunch Of No Talent AssClowns.

18 10 2004
tyra

heh heh. she said “assclown.”
your icons rock–this one’s especially adorable. who’s the bubble-gum girl? πŸ™‚
i do like the borders, although i hesitate to lose even another pixel worth of wings. i cropped mine originally to get as much wing in the picture as i could seem to get to fit, b/c i do still want her to BE a fairy… in a perfect world i’d have sharp AND wings and maybe even also a border. but not when you’ve got better things to do. maybe next time the assclowns make you nervous!
i’m not sure i’d hang the good-feeling-ness of my soul on a baseball team. but that’s just me, & my sense that such things are often in better hands when not left with bands of boys with smelly lucky socks. πŸ™‚

18 10 2004
ayrdaomei

who’s the bubble-gum girl? πŸ™‚
Jubilation Lee, affectionately known as Jubilee, of the X-Men comics.
but not when you’ve got better things to do.
I’ve rarely got better things to do. Well that’s not true, I usually have better things to do, but I rarely feel inclined to actually do them. I’m happy to give it a go ^_^
maybe next time the assclowns make you nervous!
**laughs** you mean like right now?
i’m not sure i’d hang the good-feeling-ness of my soul on a baseball team. but that’s just me, & my sense that such things are often in better hands when not left with bands of boys with smelly lucky socks. πŸ™‚
Man, you are not wrong. And if I’d gotten that into my thick skull 6 years ago, I could have saved myself a lifetime of pain. And a several pounds of incense πŸ˜‰

19 10 2004
ayrdaomei

///
So you can see more of her wings, but I couldn’t get her as clear really, since we have to pull away. A bit of a brush border on the first, none on the second ^_^

19 10 2004
tyra

you. are. the. greatest.
i love both of them. she’s plenty clear. and very, wonderfully, wingy!
the bordered one looks cooler on white backgrounds. the other one glows more on dark ones. choices, choices, choices.
if you went to my school, i’d bring you flowers tomorrow. πŸ™‚

16 10 2004
wahyagar

ok fine… I posted one πŸ˜›
–Me

23 10 2004
ovrclokd

a little late, but mine’s up…

Leave a Reply

