another of the sort

7 02 2005

In an effort to get people to look
into each other’s eyes more,
the government has decided to allot
each person exactly one hundred
and sixty-seven words, per day.
When the phone rings, I put it
to my ear without saying hello.
In the restaurant I point
at chicken noodle soup. I am
adjusting well to the new way.
Late at night, I call my long
distance lover and proudly say
I only used fifty-nine today.
I saved the rest for you.
When she doesn’t respond, I know
she’s used up all her words
so I slowly whisper I love you,
thirty-two and a third times.
After that, we just sit on the line
and listen to each other breathe.

(he’s got no idea where this one’s from)

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 02 2005
cheshirrrecat

i Love that.
who wrote it?

12 02 2005
tyra

the cut-and-paste-r (who won’t call this a dedication, hence me feeling over-reached in deciding i want to take it as such, b/c i think i’m at least qualified to claim moments in which it would have been, even if this wasn’t one) doesn’t know. i don’t know where he found it, either; we got rather disconnected while he was evasively explaining. if he wrote it, he’d have confessed.

Leave a Reply

