representing

19 09 2007
My pirate name is:
Captain Grace Bonney

Even though there’s no legal rank on a pirate ship, everyone recognizes you’re the one in charge. You can be a little bit unpredictable, but a pirate’s life is far from full of certainties, so that fits in pretty well. Arr!

Get your own pirate name from piratequiz.com.
part of the fidius.org network

i walked into the office this morning and chris said “arrr!” “arrr!” i answered, and we discussed our pirate-names and our favorite memes & where to buy the best t-l-a-p day t-shirts. when i left i walked by kristy’s office i called “ahoy!” at her. “ahoy!” she called back (which much more fierce intonation than i’d used). “arrr!” (keep in mind these are not my silly grad-student colleagues, these are the office staff, who nobody prepped for this unless it was their school-aged children.) on my way down the stairs i saw terry, the janitor, wearing a hawaiian shirt. “is that your pirate shirt?” “yes,” he answered, and grinned at me. “arr!”

i haven’t seen any of these people in weeks. it’s not my fault they’re like this. sometimes, against all odds, i love this place.

also encouraging: walking down to the coffee shop after my 9am meeting, i could overhear part of a conversation between a couple of army ROTC guys walking in a mixed crowd behind me. (i suspected their affiliation when one of them was singing a little callback chant i didn’t know but recognized the tone of plenty well anyway, & had it confirmed when the other one said something about p.t.) one said something about the viability of something else, and his friend (by now i’d verified by glancing back to check their haircuts) answered confidently “just because it’s viable doesn’t mean it’s desirable. or reasonable.” regardless of what they were actually discussing, i don’t think they taught those distinctions to the cadets i used to know.

so maybe, just maybe, the future’s looking up, y’all. and if not, well, we can always take to the trusty seas.

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 09 2007
2eclipse

sigh…
i told my co-workers about t-l-a-p day and they all looked at me like i was crazy.
so what if they’re right.

19 09 2007
faerieariel

Yay for insightful cadets! I can guarantee there will be no Hawaiian shirts or pirate talk at my office today. bummer!

20 09 2007
donnickcottage

I like the sound of futures looking up. It’s soothing, like a surf on a calm day.

29 09 2007
Anonymous

Escher is going to be Captain Hook to Jonas’ Peter Pan this Halloween. You are more than welcome to join us Trick-or-Treating.
Oh, and I totally agree with you, about the world looking up (although by including “totally” in that sentence, I can’t help but wonder if I’ve set us back a bit.)

29 09 2007
appalachienne

Oops. Yes, it’s me. I’m sure you would’ve known that. But yeah.

Leave a Reply

