so far so good

16 07 2008

(albeit so very out of order)

so, overlooking the part where i haven’t really posted all month because i’ve been too busy doing things that either ought to be posted about or needed to be prioritized over posting, here’s a little voice-in-the-void hello from the west coast leg of my east coast summer tour (don’t think too hard about that).

i flew in yesterday on one of those miraculous east-to-west trips where you get on a plane in the morning, get on another plane still in the morning, and then land some nine hours after you arrived at the first airport STILL IN THE MORNING, & spent the day thoroughly ensconced in deity_inc-land: first stop caffeine, then diner food breakfast at lunchtime, then back to his apartment for a little internet, napping, & harassment of the cat, then to the climbing gym to meet up with some 19-year-olds, scramble up a few walls, earn a little mocking for my cowardice, & come away with shaky arms (after a ridiculously small number of baby-level climbs) and playground-burn on the pads of my chalky hands. then showers, dressing appropriately for the outside world, zipping downtown, VIP parking with a “borrowed” pass, the nickel tour of both of his restaurants and all of the fast, fabulously knowledgeable, snazzy people who work in them, & eventually an obscenely expensive & obscenely delicious dinner with him & D @ wild ginger.

i would start trying to list the tasty treats we partook of and the wines the connoisseurs selected to go with them (and rejected for being less than perfect), but i can’t spell or pronounce most of the terms involved and, anyway, if i got them right, the knowledgeable among you would most likely want to kill me out of envy. there was talk of then going back to his place to set me up to watch hellboy i to catch me up with my moviegoers’ readiness back home, but it turned out that midnight west coast time when one has woken up at 4:30am east coast time really is pumpkin time (even after they took pity on me & only had me sipping from three different bottles of wine, fortified by extra-strong green tea), & so instead, i slept while the dutiful student stayed up with his markers drawing wine-maps of new zealand into the wee hours. i’m hoping for a lesson later, so i’ll know what the labels are talking about when stores show off about their kiwi wines.

this morning he’s gone off to taste some other wines with (some other) experts–y’all all wish you could say you drank professionally, & that drinking at 10am counted, without an iota of sarcasm or creative re-labeling, as professional development–leaving me with apartment keys for prowling purposes, left-overs for snacking on (mmmmm) and gabriel blue-eyes and the internets for company. it was with great cheerfulness on a 60s sunny morning that i let myself out of the building and wandered down into the neighborhood to go exploring: i found a cute tank top at a thrift store for $2, a cup of coffee with almond syrup for less than another $2, a little plastic ring from a gumball machine in a mexican market for a quarter, and a drug store to sell me band-aids so i can get further, later, on these feet that liked these shoes just fine until united made me run in them across several terminals. currently, i’m waiting around for showertime, which will happen sometime after he gets back & calls to be let into his home; in the meantime (did i mention i brought no work and not my computer on this trip?) i think i’m going to go lie around on the futon & read comic books.

Actions

Information

20 responses

16 07 2008
evangelysta

This all sounds flippin delightful! And happy belated, starkeeper.

18 07 2008
tyra

thank you. 🙂
when are you coming back to tha cuse?

18 07 2008
tyra

thank you. 🙂
when are you coming back to tha cuse?

16 07 2008
evangelysta

This all sounds flippin delightful! And happy belated, starkeeper.

16 07 2008
Anonymous

lovely.
i love seattle. have a great time.

16 07 2008
_aurelius

that was me. i thought i had logged in. bloody demon computer.

16 07 2008
_aurelius

that was me. i thought i had logged in. bloody demon computer.

16 07 2008
Anonymous

lovely.
i love seattle. have a great time.

17 07 2008
pooh_gal

So let me understand this…. you’re in Seattle? My Seattle? and I didn’t know? and I didn’t get to offer cool tips on where to go and what to find and try and so on?
Hmmmmm…… the pooh must think on this…. think, think, think….

17 07 2008
sometimerose

Exactly my thought. You’re in Seattle?! My Seattle? The city I live in?! And isn’t the weather just perfect for it, too? Welcome to it!

17 07 2008
sometimerose

Exactly my thought. You’re in Seattle?! My Seattle? The city I live in?! And isn’t the weather just perfect for it, too? Welcome to it!

18 07 2008
tyra

🙂
i’m getting on a plane to come home already. was here for 3 mostly-nocturnal days without a car of my own and w/a host with limited free time to play with me with, so i’d have been a waste of good tips. the next visit will be when there’s more time to play with, and then they’ll come in quite very handy i’m sure!!

18 07 2008
tyra

🙂
i’m getting on a plane to come home already. was here for 3 mostly-nocturnal days without a car of my own and w/a host with limited free time to play with me with, so i’d have been a waste of good tips. the next visit will be when there’s more time to play with, and then they’ll come in quite very handy i’m sure!!

17 07 2008
pooh_gal

So let me understand this…. you’re in Seattle? My Seattle? and I didn’t know? and I didn’t get to offer cool tips on where to go and what to find and try and so on?
Hmmmmm…… the pooh must think on this…. think, think, think….

17 07 2008
sometimerose

P.S. I have a cute baby as a bribe if you find yourself with more unplanned time on your hands! 🙂

18 07 2008
tyra

aww, baby!!!
i, unfortunately, am an idiot, and managed to totally blank on the fact that this was where you lived & thus that i knew two cool people in seattle. had i remembered that, i would have been hanging out with you and meeting wee rachel. as is, alas, i shall have to queue you for my next visit also, and feel dopey about it. durrrrr.

18 07 2008
sometimerose

i figured you would be busy, but thought i would mention… 🙂 I hope you had a great visit; it’s a great city!

18 07 2008
sometimerose

i figured you would be busy, but thought i would mention… 🙂 I hope you had a great visit; it’s a great city!

18 07 2008
tyra

aww, baby!!!
i, unfortunately, am an idiot, and managed to totally blank on the fact that this was where you lived & thus that i knew two cool people in seattle. had i remembered that, i would have been hanging out with you and meeting wee rachel. as is, alas, i shall have to queue you for my next visit also, and feel dopey about it. durrrrr.

17 07 2008
sometimerose

P.S. I have a cute baby as a bribe if you find yourself with more unplanned time on your hands! 🙂

Leave a Reply

