meming: [Writer’s Block: Six-Word Story]

15 08 2008

She understood, and said “yes” anyway.

(i generally hate this thing, and feel similarly about hemingway–not that he wasn’t gifted, because he surely was, but i don’t need someone else to wring out the dreary & dry in the world around me–i can see it just fine, thanks, & would far rather put my energy into looking for what else. but metalmonkey put it up with a particularly good response as an opening challenge, and i was reminded of how erc had a book of very, very short stories with some tiny word limit (20?) that i loved (despite how more than half of them involved a murder), so i thought i’d play along, just for a moment…)

Actions

Information

14 responses

15 08 2008
the_vulture

Some themes are easy to establish in a short amount of words; the one you presented is not. Well done with your response!

15 08 2008
the_vulture

Some themes are easy to establish in a short amount of words; the one you presented is not. Well done with your response!

15 08 2008
easy_peasy_24

I think your story is wonderful.
What is this book of which you speak, by the way? A whole book full of 20-word stories!? I’d love to find a book like that.

16 08 2008
tyra

turns out it was 55, not 20, but still! the friend in question sends this link: http://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Shortest-Stories-Suspense-Amazing/dp/0762403004

16 08 2008
tyra

turns out it was 55, not 20, but still! the friend in question sends this link: http://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Shortest-Stories-Suspense-Amazing/dp/0762403004

15 08 2008
easy_peasy_24

I think your story is wonderful.
What is this book of which you speak, by the way? A whole book full of 20-word stories!? I’d love to find a book like that.

15 08 2008
metalmonkey

well met, indeed. Took me about a half hour to come up with something that wasn’t total angst, or cheese filled. Sometimes i guess writing is like baking pastries.

15 08 2008
metalmonkey

well met, indeed. Took me about a half hour to come up with something that wasn’t total angst, or cheese filled. Sometimes i guess writing is like baking pastries.

15 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Lightning struck him, and I rejoiced.
hmmm… or probably better, replace him with something more descriptive and make the actioning thingy more personel, maybe
They shot father, and I rejoiced.
Hmmm…
The Devil looked up, I smiled
or
The Devil smiled, so did I.
It kept raining, for five years.
Lasers flashed, the empire crumbled
Lasers flashed, empires crumbled, we/I cried.
Swords flashing, empires crumbling, we fled.
Lol, me likey the game šŸ™‚ Unfortunately with boss gone and me filling in, not a lot of time for such. No rest for the wicked ;P
If a title for that book surfaces, I’d be interested too.

16 08 2008
17 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Thanks šŸ™‚

17 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Thanks šŸ™‚

16 08 2008
15 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Lightning struck him, and I rejoiced.
hmmm… or probably better, replace him with something more descriptive and make the actioning thingy more personel, maybe
They shot father, and I rejoiced.
Hmmm…
The Devil looked up, I smiled
or
The Devil smiled, so did I.
It kept raining, for five years.
Lasers flashed, the empire crumbled
Lasers flashed, empires crumbled, we/I cried.
Swords flashing, empires crumbling, we fled.
Lol, me likey the game šŸ™‚ Unfortunately with boss gone and me filling in, not a lot of time for such. No rest for the wicked ;P
If a title for that book surfaces, I’d be interested too.

Leave a Reply

