wordles ii

17 08 2008

yep.

couldn’t resist.

bad poetry canon wordle, ici:

what’s interesting to me about this one is that they’re all such… good, small, basic, anglo-saxon words. you don’t get art and nuance when you run hundreds of pages of poetry through a counting-machine, you get the straw & glue of the mud-daub hut the poet crouches inside, glaring at the fire–you get the little nouns and verbs and emphases, but little-to-no specificity. clearest of all is what poetry is: the act of setting things against other things to discover how & what & why they’re like.

i want to run out & grab 30 poets & run all of their canons through & see how very much the same our answers look, no matter how different the final versions of our works.

edit/add-on: wordle for the complete works of shakespeare”

now, because i’m a nerd, i have a question about the algorithm. i already assumed it was cutting out the “a” & “of” & “the”-s that search engines overlook, but looking at my own work, an awful lot of which is direct-addressed to the second person, and looking at the shakespeare build… i can only imagine the machine was told to overlook modern forms of “you” but not the older sort.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Your wordles are too cool for my feeble NIPR government computer.
Indeed, the wordles burned its eyes and gave it a horrible headache when I made it try to plumb the mysterious depth of them.
aka either I’m having bandwidth issues or I need a java update
Next time I’m on a real connection I’ll click on them to play.
It is interesting what comes out… but then as you said
“to discover how & what & why they’re like.”, and to do that using words, well the house you build of those words might have a pretty door, or stained glass, or gorgeous paint, but it’s still really made up of mostly the same stuff as other houses, lots of 2X4s and whatnot… so I’d lay money the other poets wordles would look mighty similiar – barring huge stylistic differences in type/expression/format of the poetry, in which case those of that diverge in the same directions should have something of the same texture. I think we have a long way yet before we can feed poetry into a machine and get back anything that still conjures something of the indefinables of it.

17 08 2008
quixotic_goat

Your wordles are too cool for my feeble NIPR government computer.
Indeed, the wordles burned its eyes and gave it a horrible headache when I made it try to plumb the mysterious depth of them.
aka either I’m having bandwidth issues or I need a java update
Next time I’m on a real connection I’ll click on them to play.
It is interesting what comes out… but then as you said
“to discover how & what & why they’re like.”, and to do that using words, well the house you build of those words might have a pretty door, or stained glass, or gorgeous paint, but it’s still really made up of mostly the same stuff as other houses, lots of 2X4s and whatnot… so I’d lay money the other poets wordles would look mighty similiar – barring huge stylistic differences in type/expression/format of the poetry, in which case those of that diverge in the same directions should have something of the same texture. I think we have a long way yet before we can feed poetry into a machine and get back anything that still conjures something of the indefinables of it.

19 08 2008
faerieariel

okay, I had a folder with ALL of the Sarenity 2004 (the only year so far where i actually achieved the 100-piece goal) and my LIKE was huge, but there were all these lost and dark words. THEN to compare it I took the short 2007 file, only 19 pieces in it, and the nouns were more unique, image-based and specific (i.e. it’s not a tree, it’s an oak)and from now on I will do this periodically to see what kind of writer I am becoming 🙂 Doing it to my resume was fascinating as well.

19 08 2008
faerieariel

okay, I had a folder with ALL of the Sarenity 2004 (the only year so far where i actually achieved the 100-piece goal) and my LIKE was huge, but there were all these lost and dark words. THEN to compare it I took the short 2007 file, only 19 pieces in it, and the nouns were more unique, image-based and specific (i.e. it’s not a tree, it’s an oak)and from now on I will do this periodically to see what kind of writer I am becoming 🙂 Doing it to my resume was fascinating as well.

Leave a Reply

