remembering why I cancelled my LAST credit card “managed” by Chase…

9 08 2010

Initial message:
Dear Sir or Madam,
I have never received a card for this account. It is now August. This account was opened June 18th, when I made my first purchase online as part of an Amazon.com special, and I have received and paid the bill for that purchase. Please send my card ASAP. Thank you.
[me]


a week goes by, and all i hear after the automated “we got your message and will get back to you in 4 hours” is internet crickets. so i tried again.


Dear Sir or Madam,
I tried to contact you last week regarding the fact that I have NEVER received a card for this account. I got an automated response promising I would hear from a representative in 4 hours, and then I heard nothing at all. For a week.

I would call instead, but have repeatedly had unsatisfactory service on the phone from Chase representatives, and was hoping that online communication would be more effective. I am losing faith fast in this company as a source of secure financial service, as I cannot even get a response from an actual human.

I hope to hear from you soon to resolve this matter.
me


Dear Tish Twomey,

I am writing in response to your inquiry about not being
able to get your replacement card.

I apologize if the recent phone service you received was
not of that quality. As our valued customer, your comments
are critical to our service efforts, and I appreciate you
taking the time to share your experience with us.

I reviewed your account and se that your card was shipped
on 06/22/2010. I also see that your account and found mail
was returned to us.

Therefore, In order to ensure we have your most current
information on file, please resubmit your original request
along with your current mailing address through the Secure
Message Center.

I apologize for any dissatisfaction this may have caused
you.

If you have any further questions, please reply using the
Secure Message Center.

Thank you,
[name]
E-mail Customer Service Representative


(here, i sent a polite reply listing my name, account #, address, phone #, etc., so that they could check their records and clear up the apparent snafu. o optimism, how premature you are)


Dear [me]
Thank you for contacting Chase about your address.

I show the information you provided is what we have on
file. Please check with your local Post Office as the
cards were returned to us as undeliverable.

If you have any further questions, please reply using the
Secure Message Center.

Thank you,

[name]
Email Customer Service Representative


Dear [name] (or other Chase representative),

Regarding your message about contacting my local post office, I am writing to let you know that I have been receiving mail at this address since June first of this year. The local Post Office is quite certain this is my address. Mail is regularly forwarded here from my old address with the official, yellow post office label on it, and mail correctly addressed to me at this address reaches me, after traveling through my local post office, on a daily basis.

Please either send me, at this address, because this is where I live and receive mail, a card to use with my account. If that cannot be arranged, please cancel the account, as it does me no good without a card.

Thank you,
[me]

Actions

Information

One response

9 08 2010
pictsy

I also see that your account and found mail was returned to us.
So, they knew that you hadn’t received the card, and yet made no attempt to contact you about the problem? How do companies stay in business?

Leave a Reply

